Three finalists for the 2014 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of thought

Ukrainian movement EuroMaidan, Congolese gynaecologist Denis Mukwege and Azerbaijani human rights activist Leyla Yunus are the three finalists for this year's European Parliament Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, as voted jointly on Tuesday by the Foreign Affairs and Development committees.

The winner will be decided by Parliament's President and political group leaders on 16 October and the award ceremony will be held in Strasbourg on 26 November.

The three finalists are:

The pro-European Ukrainian movement EuroMaidan, represented by journalist Mustafa Nayem; musician and Eurovision winning artist Ruslana Lyzhychko; activist Yelyzaveta Schepetylnykova; and journalist Tetiana Chornovol.

Denis Mukwege, a Congolese gynaecologist specialising in the treatment of rape victims and founder of the Panzi Hospital in Bukavu, in the Democratic Republic Congo.

Leyla Yunus, an Azerbaijani human rights activist and defender of ethnic minorities' rights in her country, who is currently in pre-trial custody.


Sakharov Prize

The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, named after Soviet scientist and dissident Andrei Sakharov, was established in December 1988 by the European Parliament to honour individuals or organizations who dedicate their lives to the defence of human rights and freedoms, particularly the right to free expression.

Leave a review


Follow us on social networks

News Line