Açiq mənbələrdən foto.

Açiq mənbələrdən foto.

Baku/13.05.20/Turan: On May 13, the Union “Freedom for Political Prisoners of Azerbaijan” unveiled a list of political prisoners, taking into account recent arrests and trials.

The list includes all those arrested and convicted for political reasons, about whom it was possible to collect reliable information on March 20, 2020, according to a Union press release.

As noted in the message, the list was compiled according to the criteria set out in PACE resolution No. 1900 of October 2012. http://www.coe.int/t/r/parliamentary_assembly/ %5BRussian_documents%5D/%5B2012%5D/% 5BOct2012%5D/Res1900_rus.asp

Compiled by: Leyla Yunus (former “prisoner of conscience”) Director of the Institute of Peace and Democracy and Elshan Hasanov (former “prisoner of conscience”) Head of the Public Center for Monitoring Political Prisoners

The list contains 155 names, which are divided into 9 groups:

No. 1 - journalists and bloggers - 7 people;

No. 2 - members of opposition parties and movements - 8 people;

No. 3 - victims of crimes in the MNS - 3 people;

No. 4 - believers - 51 people;

No. 5 - hostages - 1 person;

No. 6 - convicted in the Terter case - 25 people;

No. 7 - convicted in the Ganja case - 45 people;

No. 8 - prisoners in a psychiatric hospital - 1 person;

No. 9 - life sentenced - 14 people.

The number of political prisoners has increased due to victims of repression during the period of the virus. These are: Tofig Yagublu, Elchin Mammad, Agyl Humbatov, Alizamin Salaev plus 25 military personnel convicted on trumped-up charges for long terms of imprisonment in closed trials in 2018 -02D-


Leave a review


Follow us on social networks

News Line